stillretirement.blogg.se

Diary of an oxygen thief series order
Diary of an oxygen thief series order






diary of an oxygen thief series order

But the words that I read were so dull, dispassionate, shallow and lifeless.

diary of an oxygen thief series order

What I didn’t like about it is that I felt like it was supposed to be an account of love (no matter how twisted), pain and obsession from a man’s perspective. Sometimes, things don’t work out that way. I like that he isn’t the typical hero who has quirky flaws that are easily dismissed, or that he begins the book as a villain who later repents and is the most likeable character at the end. I like that he’s the bad guy who struggles with alcoholism, who dislikes his job and hasn’t spoken to a female in five years. Honestly, I actually like that the protagonist of this novel is unconventional. This character is allowed to be a problematic alcoholic who inflicts pain because he was hurt once too, just like regular human beings in the real world. But characters are allowed to have major flaws, just like regular human beings in the real world. I felt yucky and unclean too when I was reading his recounts. I personally don’t understand why readers are getting their knickers in a knot over the character being messed up. These views, however, are not the reasons why I am so mad about the publishing and my reading the book. Many of the negative reviewers were whining about how the novel was an “an unapologetic and even romanticised account of a manipulative and narcissistic garbage dump of a person who hurts people without remorse and paints himself as a victim” (Elizabeth), and that the narrator is a “self-absorbed” (Scott) “spoilt brat” (Marissa) and “raging misogynist” (Leah) who has the “most screwed up idea of love” (Marissa). I will try to keep my unconstructive criticism to a minimum, because oh boy do I have a lot of (probably hurtful) opinions about this novel.Īs soon as I finished reading the book, I went online to search for other people’s thoughts on GoodReads. I kept reading, and reading, and reading, hoping that there would be some major twist, or crucial event, or something that would make my jaw drop in absolute horror. But as I continued to binge read over the next four days (yes, this might be slow for some of you more experienced readers!), I realised that it was not what I had expected. I liked how direct it was and how it immediately dived into what I hoped the story would be about: a male misogynist who manipulates women and gets karma. “I liked hurting girls.” Diary of an oxygen thief by Anonymous (pg. It’s about a male misogynist who manipulates women and gets karma. There were also people – like me – who did not know the book, asking for a brief summary without spoilers. I immediately began searching the comments section, trying to understand why this content creator felt this way, and to my surprise, the comments were divided and there were just as many people agreeing with the young woman as there were people raving about loving the novel. I was scrolling on BookTok one day (for those of you who don’t know, BookTok is a TikTok niche dedicated to reading and books) and came across a particular video that depicted a young woman throwing her copy of Diary of an oxygen thief into the trash with something along the lines of “put it where it belongs” as the video caption (I have since forgotten who this video belongs to so please don’t hate me for not crediting her). Warning: the next section contains minor spoilers! Without further ado, let’s move onto the review. What I will be detailing below is purely my own opinion.

Diary of an oxygen thief series order professional#

I just want to put in a disclaimer saying that I know that I am in no way, shape, or form a professional book reviewer who knows 100% what they’re talking about. The book I am going to review in this post: Diary of an oxygen thief by Anonymous, is, I’ve found, a controversial one. I know that I don’t have the most diverse repertoire of finished books on my shelf to consider myself worthy of reviewing books in a sophisticated way, but I am nevertheless interested in reading and do possess some opinions about some of the works I’ve read. Let’s get that out of the way from the very beginning.








Diary of an oxygen thief series order